Check out the New Skins and Maps in Gears 3’s Fenix Rising DLC

The Fenix Rising map pack for Gears of War 3 should now be available on your Xbox 360, but just in case you are a little hesitant about purchasing it, we’re providing some hi-res screenshots of the new maps and character skins found in this DLC pack for you to ogle over. For 800 points Gears 3 fans will get 5 new multiplayer maps, and 4 new character skins to use in their conquest to re-up their multiplayer rank, which is the new prestige mode added to Gears 3 via the Fenix Rising DLC pack.  For official details and screenshots of the new maps and skins, head on down past the break.  You’ve been ready to make Gears 3 a gaming priority again…

Fenix Rising Maps






Fenix Rising Character Skins


Thrashball Cole

Savage Marauder

Savage Kantus

Fenix Rising Official Press Release

Today, Microsoft and Epic release “Fenix Rising,” the third major game add-on for the most critically-acclaimed shooter of 2011, “Gears of War 3.” Featuring five spectacular new multiplayer maps inspired by the life and experiences of Marcus Fenix, “Fenix Rising” also introduces four character skins and a new experience system that allows players to rank up through level 100 four times to unlock exclusive emblems and weapon skins.

With the purchase of the add-on, players who attain level 100 will have a choice to “Re-up” for another tour of duty to showcase their valour and dedication as elite “Gears of War” fans. Their experience and rank will be reset, but all other progression (including TrueSkill rating) will remain intact. Players can “Re-up” up to three times, earning new wings colours each time: Red, Green, and Gold. The rank number will also be coloured Red, Green, or Blue. Each “Re-up” level also awards the player an exclusive, custom weapon skin that cannot be obtained by any other means.

Available on Xbox LIVE for 800 Microsoft Points or included as part of the “Gears of War 3” Season Pass, “Fenix Rising” expands the multiplayer battlefield with five stunning new maps – Academy, Anvil, Depths,  Escalation, and the Slab – delivering endless hours of frantic online action across Versus Multiplayer, Horde and Beast Mode. Additionally, players who purchase “Fenix Rising” will gain access to four new character skins (Recruit Clayton, Thrashball Cole – Limited Edition, Savage Marauder and Savage Kantus – Limited Edition) for use in Versus Multiplayer and Horde Mode.

[#ff entbuddha] “Making you a better geek, one post at a time!”


Tags : DLCFenix RisingGears3Screenshots
Matt Heywood

The author Matt Heywood

Matt Heywood is the founder and EIC of where he strives to make you a better geek, one post at a time! When he’s not scouring the Internet for interesting nuggets of awesomeness he can be found in his secret lair enjoying the latest and greatest video games, taking pictures of toys, or talking Star Wars on EB’s Star Wars Time podcast show.