Earlier today Bungie officially released the details for the upcoming Destiny beta that will take place on the PS4, PS3, Xbox One, and Xbox 360 in addition to a few other tasty nuggets of information.

The beta will begin on July 17, 2014 for the PS4 and PS3 at 10 am PDT, and then it will open on the 360 and Xbox One on July 23, 2014. The Destiny beta will have scheduled downtime on July 21st and 22nd, but will be back up by the 23rd and remain open to pre-order participants until July 27th. If you can do the math this means that PS4/PS3 players will have ~8 full days with the Destiny beta, while 360/X1 players will only have ~4 full days.

Bungie also released details in regards to the three collector’s editions for Destiny that range from $89.99 – $149.99, as well as two Expansion Packs that retail for $19.99 a piece, or $34.99 if you buy the Expansion Pass. Players will have the ability to choose from the Destiny Ghost Edition ($149.99), the Destiny Limited Edition ($99.99), and the Destiny Digital Guardian Edition ($89.99) when they go to pre-order the game. The Limited and Ghost editions will each feature the following items and content:

Destiny Ghost Edition_info sheet

  • Limited edition SteelBook™ Case and Game Disc
  • Guardian Folio:
    • Arms & Armament Field Guide
    • Postcards from the Golden Age  
    • Antique Star Chart
  • Collector’s Edition Digital Content Pack:
    • Unique Ghost Casing
    • Exclusive Player Emblem
    • Exclusive Player Ship Variant
  • Destiny Expansion Pass – expands the Destiny adventure post-launch with the following two expansions, which will include brand new story missions, cooperative activities and competitive multiplayer arenas, and a wealth of all new weapons, armor and gear to earn:
    • Expansion I: The Dark Below – Set deep beneath the surface of the Moon, fans will discover an ancient tomb that has been unsealed, and a dark god who has risen an evil army in the depths of the Hellmouth, the home of the Hive enemy race
    • Expansion II: House of Wolves – details will be revealed later
    • PlayStation platforms will also include additional exclusive content for Expansion I and II and will remain exclusive until at least Fall of 2015

The Ghost Edition will also include the following items:

  • Ghost replica, featuring motion-activated lights and voice recordings from award-winning actor Peter Dinklage, voice of the Ghost character, the player’s personal companion in the game
  • Letter of Introduction
  • Golden Age Relics, which include a Photo, Patch, Sticker and two Chrome slides of the Traveler

Finally, the Digital Guardian Edition will feature a digital download copy of the game, the Destiny Expansion Pass, and the Collector’s Edition Digital Content Pack. If any of these Collector’s Editions peak your interest you can pre-order them from the official Destiny website.

Make sure to check out the new Destiny Beta trailer above for more details!

Destiny is set to release for the PS4, PS3, Xbox 360, and Xbox One on September 9, 2014.


“Making you a better geek, one post at a time!”

Tags : BetasCollector's EditiondestinyNew TrailerSeason Pass
Matt Heywood

The author Matt Heywood

Matt Heywood is the founder and EIC of where he strives to make you a better geek, one post at a time! When he’s not scouring the Internet for interesting nuggets of awesomeness he can be found in his secret lair enjoying the latest and greatest video games, taking pictures of toys, or talking Star Wars on EB’s Star Wars Time podcast show.