Destiny: Rise of Iron Expansion Detailed in New Trailers, Will be Current-Gen Only

Today Bungie officially unveiled Destiny’s next expansion, which is dubbed “Rise of Iron.” The content will feature new campaign content, a new zone called The Plaguelands, and a new social zone called Felwinter Peak. There will also be a new enemy faction called the Fallen Devil Splicers, and new six player raids. Additional updates and bonuses will be as follows:

  • More Quests, Weapons, Armor, & Gear to Earn  
  • New & Updated Strikes  
  • New Competitive Mode & Maps 
  • Light Level Increase   And more to be revealed later this summer
  • ALL Rise of Iron players, regardless of purchase place, time, etc., can earn the Gjallarhorn after completing a specific quest in Rise of Iron.
  • Players who preorder beginning June 9th will receive a limited edition Iron Gjallarhorn, featuring distinct black-and-silver visual upgrades.

This expansion will also only be for the Xbox One and PS4 versions of the game. Destiny will now be forked between last and current-gen consoles, so if you want to continue your journey you’ll have to upgraded to a modern console.

Destiny: Rise of Iron will cost $29.99 and is set to launch on September 20, 2016. You can check out a trailer for the Expansion above and another for the new Gjallarhorn below.

“Making you a better geek, one post at a time!”

Tags : Destiny Rise of Iron
Matt Heywood

The author Matt Heywood

Matt Heywood is the founder and EIC of where he strives to make you a better geek, one post at a time! When he’s not scouring the Internet for interesting nuggets of awesomeness he can be found in his secret lair enjoying the latest and greatest video games, taking pictures of toys, or talking Star Wars on EB’s Star Wars Time podcast show.