Variety is reporting that Oscar Isaac has been cast for the role of Apocalypse for X-Men: Apocalypse. Isaac’s most notable role was in Inside Llewyn Davis, and he also appeared in Robin Hood, Sucker Punch, and The Bourne Legacy.

X-Men: Apocalypse director Bryan Singer says that this installment will be the most destructive movie in the franchise. The film will use cast members such as Michael Fassbender, Jennifer Lawrence and James McAvoy, who also appeared in the most recent entries X-Men: First Class and X-Men: Days of Future Past. According to Singer, this new film will take place in the 1980’s and may feature younger versions of familiar characters.

Introduced in the pages of X-Factor in the 1980’s, Apocalypse was a primary villain of the mutant team made up of the original five X-Men. He gained a lot of his notoriety during the “Age of Apocalypse” event in the mid-1990’s and recently has been a major player in the Marvel Comics event, AXIS.

Isaac is the first new actor confirmed for X-Men: Apocalypse, which releases May 27, 2016.

“Making you a better geek, one post at a time!”

via [Variety]

Tags : Bryan SingerFoxMarvel ComicsX-MenX-Men: Apocalypse
Justin Ludwig

The author Justin Ludwig

Follow @jludwig86 on Twitter!